Home / Program Directory / Arts & Culture

Bagels & Books: Button Man


Click here for the 2018/19 Literary Society Benefits>>


“A compelling, fast paced historical thriller that paints a rich portrait of the rise of Jewish organized crime in 1930’s America. Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it.” — Kristin Hannah, #1 NY Times bestselling author

About the Book:
After a string of New York Times bestselling suburban thrillers, Andrew Gross has reinvented himself as a writer of historical thrillers.

Now, Gross delivers a stirring story of an immigrant family torn apart brought together and torn apart by the birth of organized crime in New York City in the 1930s. Morris, Sol, and Harry Rabinowitz grew up poor but happy in a tiny flat on the Lower East Side, until the death of their father thrust them into having to fend for themselves and support their large family. Morris apprenticed himself at twelve years old to a garment cutter in a clothing factory; Sol headed to college and became an accountant; and Harry, the youngest, fell in with a gang as a teenager and can't escape.

Morris steadily climbs through the ranks at the factory until he's running the place and buys out the owner, and Sol comes to work with him. But Harry can't be lured away from the glamour, the power, and the money that comes from working for mobster Louis Buchalter, an old bully from the neighborhood. And when Louis sets his sights on the unions that staff the garment makers' factories, a fatal showdown is inevitable, and puts brother against brother. This new novel is equal parts historical thriller, rich with the detail of a vibrant New York City in the 1920s and 1930s, and family saga, based in part on Andrew Gross's family history, and will cement his reputation as today's most atmospheric and original historical thriller writer.

About the Author: Andrew Gross is the author of eight New York Times and international best-selling thrillers. He is also the co-author of five number one bestsellers with James Patterson, including Judge & Jury and Lifeguard. His books have been translated into more than twenty-five languages. Gross's recent books have been historical thrillers, with The One Man based on family stories in the Holocaust, and The Saboteur fictionalizing an Allied raid to prevent Nazi Germany's development of an atomic bomb. Button Man, based on his grandfather's experiences in New York's garment industry during the Depression, is his latest novel.

About the Event: 

Tuesday, March 19 | 10:00am

Mandel JCC, Palm Beach Gardens

Cost Per event:
$15 Literary Society Reader
$18 Guest

Cost For Series:
$54 Literary Society Reader
$66 Guest

Register Here>>

Wednesday, March 20 | 10:00am 
Mandel JCC, Boynton Beach

Cost Per event:
$13 Literary Society Reader
$15 Guest

Cost For Series:
$24 Literary Society Reader
$28 Guest

*Cost includes author presentation & light breakfast

Register Here>>
To purchase tickets over the phone please call 877-318-0071.

Partners:



Book Festival

Book Festival

The 24th Mandel JCC Book Festival is here! It's going to be an amazing season starting with our kick-off event with author, Lou Cove at The Lake Pavilion on November 14th. This year's line-up also includes Mike Reiss, the longtime writer of The Simpsons, international best-selling author Alyson Richman, award-winning author B.A Shapiro and more!

Read more »

Edward & Thelma Glantz Early Childhood Learning Center

Edward & Thelma Glantz Early Childhood Learning Center

Registration is open for the 2019/2020 school year. We offer part-time and full-time options for infants through VPK. Our learning framework, community garden, ongoing parent communication, and integration of music, physical education, and Jewish celebration are just a few of the elements that separate us from other preschools. Come tour our facility and find out why we are considered a school of excellence.

Read more »

Saturday Night with the J - Fundraiser for Camp Shalom

Saturday Night with the J - Fundraiser for Camp Shalom

Don’t be a regular Sandra Dee & come party with the T-Birds & Pink Ladies! YOU & Saturday Night with the J go together like rama lama lama ke dinga de dinga dong!

Read more »

The Constance & David Blacher Children's Special Needs Program

The Constance & David Blacher Children's Special Needs Program

We believe that every child can succeed, every child can participate and every child can make friends! There are programs for all ages and ability levels including Sunday Fundays at the J, our Special Needs Adolescent Program, vacation camps, sports classes and more!

Read more »

Keep in Touch With the JCC

Receive special events, news, and more!

[image]